Skip to main content

Chargers Official Site | Los Angeles Chargers -

Quarterback Justin Herbert Named PFWA 2020 Rookie of the Year

Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert was named 2020 Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) on Tuesday, while linebacker Kenneth Murray was selected to the All-Rookie team.

In 57 seasons, Herbert is the first Chargers player to ever receive PFWA Rookie of the Year honors. Additionally, he and teammate Keenan Allen (2013) are the only two Chargers to have ever won PFWA Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Herbert threw for 4,336 yards and 31 touchdowns to just 10 interceptions in 15 starts. He set the all-time rookie record for passing touchdowns, total touchdowns (36) and completions (396), and came \38 yards shy of Andrew Luck's single-season rookie passing record.

Murray started all 16 games for Los Angeles, playing 93 percent of the defensive snaps. He led the team with 107 total tackles, the most by a Chargers rookie since 2000. Fellow first-round linebackers Patrick Queen (BAL) and Isaiah Simmons (ARI) joined Murray on the All-Rookie team.

Washington defensive end Chase Young received PFWA Defensive Rookie of the Year honors.

ABOUT THE PFWA: In its 57th season in 2020, the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA) is the official voice of pro football writers, promoting and fighting for access to NFL personnel to best serve the public. The PFWA is made up of accredited writers who cover the NFL and the 32 teams daily. Bob Glauber, the national football columnist for Newsday, is the organization's president for the 2018-20 seasons and the organization's 29th president. Lindsay Jones (The Athletic) is the PFWA's first vice-president, Dan Pompei (The Athletic) is the PFWA's second vice-president and Mike Sando (The Athletic) is the PFWA secretary-treasurer. At-large members include Jeff Legwold (, Charean Williams (, Jenny Vrentas (Sports Illustrated) and Mike Jones (USA Today). Follow the PFWA at and on Twitter at @PFWAwriters.

Join Us for the Future!

2021 Season Ticket Memberships are starting at only $83 a month. Submit the form below to learn more.

Related Content

From Our Partners