On Now
Coming Up
  • Sun., Dec. 28, 2014 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM PST Countdown to Kickoff

    The official San Diego Chargers pre-game show.

  • Sun., Dec. 28, 2014 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM PST Live Chargers @ Chiefs The Chargers finish up regular season play in Kansas City.
  • Sun., Dec. 28, 2014 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM PST Post-Game Show The official San Diego Chargers post-game show with exclusive interviews with Mike McCoy, Chargers players, phone calls and comments breaking down the game.
  • Sun., Jan. 25, 2015 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM PST 2015 Pro Bowl

    Fans can begin voting to select players for the 2015 Pro Bowl. Voting is available online. Balloting will conclude on Monday, December 15. The Pro Bowl players will be announced on Tuesday, December 23 live on NFL Network.

  • Sun., Jul. 19, 2015 7:30 AM PDT Kaiser Permanente Bolt to the Q Registration is now open for the 5th Annual Kaiser Permanente Bolt to the Q!



Smith, Turner Will Not Return in '13

Posted Dec 31, 2012

San Diego Chargers President Dean Spanos announced today that General Manager A.J. Smith and Head Coach Norv Turner will not return in 2013.

“I thank A.J. and Norv for the determination and integrity they brought to the Chargers each and every day,” said Spanos. “Both Norv and A.J. are consummate NFL professionals, and they understand that in this league, the bottom-line is winning.  My only goal is the Super Bowl, and that is why I have decided to move in a new direction with both our head coach and general manager positions.  I am committed to our great fans, and we will do whatever we possibly can to achieve that goal.”

Smith joined the Chargers as assistant general manager in 2001 before becoming general manager in 2003 following the passing of John Butler. During his 10 seasons, the team won five AFC West Division titles (2004, ‘06-09).  Only five teams won more games than the Chargers during the past 10 seasons.  The Chargers’ 98 wins (playoffs included) during Smith’s tenure are the most by the team during any general manager’s tenure in San Diego. Prior to the 2012 season, Smith had acquired 15 players who went on to earn Pro Bowl recognition, most in the NFL during his tenure.  

Turner produced an overall record of 59-43 (.578%) with the Chargers, including 56-40 (.583%) during the regular season. His overall record with the Chargers against the AFC West was 25-11, including 9-3 versus Oakland and Kansas City, and a 7-5 record against Denver. The Chargers won three division titles and had three second place finishes in the AFC West under Turner (2007-12).  That includes an appearance in the 2007 AFC Championship Game. Turner is tied with Don Coryell and Bobby Ross for the most playoff wins in team history (three). Turner’s regular-season record in San Diego after October 31 was 36-17, including 24-5 in December and January.

Keep up to date with you Chargers! Sign Up Now!.
Add Your Comment:

Guidelines: Please keep your comments relevant to the topic and appropriate. Abusive or combatant comments towards other fans will not be tolerated and will be removed from display on this site. Use the "Report Abuse" link to help keep the Chargers community at its best.

Recent Videos