On Now
Coming Up
  • Sun., Dec. 28, 2014 8:00 AM - 10:00 AM PST Countdown to Kickoff

    The official San Diego Chargers pre-game show.

  • Sun., Dec. 28, 2014 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM PST Live Chargers @ Chiefs The Chargers finish up regular season play in Kansas City.
  • Sun., Dec. 28, 2014 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM PST Post-Game Show The official San Diego Chargers post-game show with exclusive interviews with Mike McCoy, Chargers players, phone calls and comments breaking down the game.
  • Sun., Jan. 25, 2015 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM PST 2015 Pro Bowl

    Fans can begin voting to select players for the 2015 Pro Bowl. Voting is available online. Balloting will conclude on Monday, December 15. The Pro Bowl players will be announced on Tuesday, December 23 live on NFL Network.

  • Sun., Jul. 19, 2015 7:30 AM PDT Kaiser Permanente Bolt to the Q Registration is now open for the 5th Annual Kaiser Permanente Bolt to the Q!



Barnes named to All-Joe team

Posted Jan 27, 2012

SAN DIEGO – Outside linebacker Antwan Barnes is San Diego’s lone representative on USA Today’s 2011 All-Joe team.

Barnes made 11 sacks, started his first four NFL games and generated a team-best 15 quarterback hits during the best season of his five-year career.

The 6-foot-1, 251-pound pass rusher played an unexpected role on defense as Larry English (foot) missed most of the season and Shaun Phillips (foot) missed a career-high four games.

Barnes played better than advertised against the run and tied for 11th in the NFL in sacks. He sacked Baltimore quarterbacks Joe Flacco and Tyrod Taylor a career-high four times in a late-season 34-14 win over the Ravens, AFC Championship Game participants.

“San Diego found a new pass rusher as journeyman had nine sacks in his final 10 games,” USA Today’s Nate Davis wrote.

The All-Joe team’s outside linebackers include San Francisco’s Aldon Smith, Houton’s Connor Barwin and Baltimore’s Jarret Johnson.

The All-Joe team, created in 1992 by Larry Weisman, “honors the unsung Joes of the NFL … (the) annual squad celebrates first-rate players who receive second-rate recognition.”

Only players who have never been Pro Bowlers are eligible.

Keep up to date with you Chargers! Sign Up Now!.
Add Your Comment:

Guidelines: Please keep your comments relevant to the topic and appropriate. Abusive or combatant comments towards other fans will not be tolerated and will be removed from display on this site. Use the "Report Abuse" link to help keep the Chargers community at its best.