You are here



Chargers Honor High School Coaches! 

For more than a decade, the Chargers have teamed up with the NFL to host the team’s annual High School Coach of the Week program.  Annually, this program recognizes high school football coaches who have made a difference in the lives of their players through leadership, hard work and a special dedication to their young scholar athletes. 

 Each week during the 2016 high school football season, the Chargers teamed up with KUSI to select one outstanding local Head Coach to name as the High School Coach of the Week.  The Coach received a $1,500 donation from the team for their school’s athletic programs and the selected coach was then highlighted on the KUSI Prep Pigskin Report.  

 At the end of the season one coach was selected as the overall Chargers Coach of the Year, and for the 2016 season the Chargers were delighted to select – Rick Jackson from Madison High School!

 In 2016, Coach Jackson led Madison to a 13-2 record as the Warhawk won the Division 2-AA CIF State Championship. In honor of his accomplishments, Coach Jackson was also named the team's nominee for the Don Shula NFL High School Coach of the Year...recognizing the best High School football coaches across the country.

 Congratulations to Madison High School and Coach Rick Jackson– the 2016 Chargers High School Coach of the Year and all of the 2016 High School Coaches of the Week!

2016 Coaches of the Week

Week 1 - Dave Rodriguez -Oceanside High School

Week 2 - John Anderson - Mt. Carmel High School

Week 3 - David Dunn - Lincoln High School

Week 4 - Gary Blevins - Mira Mesa High School

Week 5 - Mike Hastings - Point Loma High School

Week 6 - John Joyner - Mater Dei Catholic High School

Week 7 - Rick Jackson - Madison High School

Week 8 - Ron Gladnick - Torrey Pines High School

Week 9 - Mike Martinez - Patrick Henry High School

Week 10 - Dru Smith - Serra High School

Week 11 - Anthony Johnson - Horizon Christian Academy

Week 12 - Drew Westling - Hilltop High School

Week 13 - Ron Hamamoto - Monte Vista High School


Chargers High School Coaches of the Year:

2016 - Rick Jackson - Madison High School

2015 - Chris Thompson - Bonita Vista High School

2014 - Ron Burner - El Capitan High School

2013 - Mike Wright - Crawford High School

2012 - David Dunn - Lincoln High School 

2011 - Dave Gross - Santana High School

2010 - Dan Williams - Vista High School    

2009 - Willie Matson - Mission Bay High School

2008 - Rick Jackson - Madison High School 

2007 - John Carroll - Oceanside High School

2006 - Ron Burner - El Capitan High School